Thursday, November 3, 2011

West Indies squad for India tour

Chrish Gayle overlooked by West Indies selectors while picking the squad for the three-Test series against India, starting in New Delhi Nov 6. 15-member squad currently playing with Bangladesh won the test series after a long gap. The main reason for Gayle drop from the squad dispute with the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) over his comments on a Jamaican radio station in May. The WICB had demanded apology but Gayle not relented to it. West Indies will thus persist with the young pair of teenager Kraigg Brathwaite and left-hander Kieran Powell with Adrian Barath considered fit enough to tour India. Barath recovered from hamstring injury picked from Bangladesh one day series. The first test is at Delhi, the second test is at Kolkata and the third test is at Mumbai and followed by five match one day intentional series.


The squad:

Darren Sammy (captain), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh, Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Fidel Edwards, Kirk Edwards, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford.


Post a Comment